Wildlife Wednesday – Big Yellow Wasp


World in Miniature, originally uploaded by anthonli.

This is one of the scariest animal I’ve ever attempted to photograph.
It’s a big yellow wasp with evil looking abdomen that most certainly hides a venom laden sting.  It looks almost like the illustrations on playing cards I saw when I was young, with its yellow conical abdomen and large mandibles.
Still, I spent a good quarter of an hour taking pictures of it, as it flies around the flowers tasting the nectar, until it flies away.
One thing though, whenever it flies near me, I’d freeze and hold my breath.

Categories: Vietnam, Wildlife Wednesday | Tags: | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Wildlife Wednesday – Big Yellow Wasp

  1. Excellent capture!!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

